top of page
Search

Covid-19 Update

Updated: Apr 6, 2020

03.13.2020


Wow. Never in a million years did I think I would ever see a day where Disney World would close, but now I am preparing to work a closing shift on the last day before the park becomes a ghost town for 2 weeks. On Sunday, March 15th, the parks will close their doors through the end of the month due to the Corona Virus.


It’s pretty crazy to think this whole journey and experience is going to come to a quick halt with no foreseen plans to come. Each day is taken day by day, and we even as cast members don’t know what’s going to happen. I’m doing my best to constantly remind myself that this is all taking place to keep all people as safe as possible.


I’m especially sad because I had a very exciting two weeks planned coming up next weekend. My family has planned a ten day spring break vacation to come visit me and see the parks after not visiting in 10 years, nor seeing me in two months, and now their trip is to be cancelled. Following their visit, I had a trip booked home for a couple of days to surprise all of my friends back home in Menomonie and celebrate Greek Week with my sorority sisters and friends of all Greek Organizations as well as take part in some Stout Family Weekend festivities. That plan is now all cancelled as well as Stout will be moving to a complete online structure through the 5th of April, pending extension if deemed necessary. All on campus events have been cancelled and students are advised to stay home and off campus for the coming weeks. Cancelling a flight is nearly impossible right now as phone lines are overly busy or wait times to speak to an operator exceed 100 minutes.


Here at Disney, we’re unsure of what’s to come, too. I feel for the people that have to make all of the big decisions…it can’t be easy to basically shut down the economy of Orlando. All of the theme parks will shut their gates come Sunday, and thousands of people will go the coming weeks without work. As of now, we have been notified we will receive pay for the hours we have been promised, but I’m unsure of what will happen should the closure period be extended.


I will get to experience a unique event as I work a closing shift on Sunday, at the time the park is to close. It will be interesting to walk out of the park and not know when I will walk back in.


I have been in close contact with many people back home in order to maintain communication of what’s going on while I reside across the country. UW-Stout is taking as much precaution as possible in terms of taking care of its students, so I am grateful for that. As of now, all internationally exchange Stout students have been recalled to come home and back to the States, but domestic students may continue to reside wherever they are. When I spoke on the phone this morning, I was told I am okay to stay here now, but there is a possibility in which domestic students be required to come home should the state they reside in be considered a “hot spot” of the virus. Again, this is a day by day, hour by hour situation that we cannot predict what’s to happen next. I hope that things can return to normal soon and I can finish my program, or I can be honorably released and return home to my family. I do not wish to end my time early as I want to be on good terms with the company for future experiences, but safety is key in all circumstances.


In communication with my sister in Denmark (Kathrine, my exchange sister,) I have learned she has fallen ill and is unsure of what it is. She hopes to be able to get into the doctor soon to learn more. My heart aches for her and I wish her a fast recovery back to good health.


I wish good health and lots of love to all of my friends and family back home and will continue to update all with any plans or changes in my experience This is truly an insane occurrence that we are experiencing, and I hope it doesn’t last long.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page