top of page
Search

Homeward Bound

Updated: Apr 6, 2020

03.016.2020 & 03.17.2020


First part of the drive...

Whew. Today started early and emotional once again. Bright and early, I picked Izzy up to take her to the airport for her morning flight back to Sacramento, CA. We talked the whole way, a little about our memories, a little about our anger, a little about our sadness. And then all of a sudden we got to her gate and took her suitcases out of the trunk and the realization came to us at the same time. Tears fled from our eyes and we had the tightest squeeze. She walked away and I drove to pick up my family to begin packing.


My car was plump full on the way down, so I’m sure you can imagine how nervous I was to fit everything in this time, too. We got to work on clearing the pantry, then my closet (with a lot of clothes, shocker) and finally the little things. Somehow, with some Disney magic and a whole lotta luck, we fit everything in the car after taking my dad and brother to the airport.

I was able to say goodbye to my other closest friend Callie, at the Disney Springs, but we’re looking at it as a “see ya later” because we’re going to be so close when she’s in Milwaukee and I’m in Menomonie.


Here’s to a long road ahead.



Continued...


We made it to our final stretch. As we passed through north-western Wisconsin, I needed to stop in Menomonie. 45 minutes prior to pulling into the parking lot of Sorenson Hall, I received an email saying Stout is closing classes and moving to online sessions for the remainder of the semester. My heart is so broken. I don’t want to see anything else end, but it seems it’s all too inevitable that that won’t happen. My friends’ semester has abruptly come to an end and they won’t be able to spend anymore time together on campus. This virus is breaking my heart and I don’t know what’s next.


I walked in to the office and took a deep breath before chatting with my bosses whom I missed so much. It’s so sad to see all these life changes take place in a matter of seven days. What’s going to happen in the next seven?


As I pulled into my garage it seems surreal that my time really is over and reality really is going to set in now. What am I to do for the next several weeks, months, etc ?


This experience has really reminded me why I wanted to work for the Disney company for so long. I know it won’t be long before I return to being a cast member, so stay tuned for more magic to come. Thank you for following this adventure 



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page