top of page
Search

Traditions

01.25.2020


Today I had my first real day of working for Disney! All cast members go through a session called "Traditions." Traditions is a time where we learn all about what Disney really is as a company.


We learn the upbringing of Walter Elias Disney, himself, how his company started, what he did to create the Disneyland in Anaheim and how it spiraled into creating the multi theme park, over 20 themed resorts, cruise line, and more that we know as the Walt Disney World Resort here in Lake Buena Vista, Florida, today. This experience has all kind of felt like a vacation until this moment. It's hard to fathom how big the company is until your walking through the park that you now call your home and place of work. This isn't all just a tourist destination for me anymore, and that's wild.


We sat in a classroom with our instructors Majid and Anthony for a couple hours and learned the basic keys to being a "cast member" (not an employee) for Disney. The showed us proper techniques for talking to guests (not customers) and certain vocabulary to use when "on stage" versus when we're "back stage." Many of the terms we use resemble that of a show in theatre. After some time in the classroom, we took a quick 'field trip' to Magic Kingdom. I was so excited as this is, of course, my favorite place on earth. Seeing the Cinderella castle as I walk down Main Street, USA hasn't gotten old yet, and I don't think it ever will. Each time I walk past it I gawk. It's so beautiful and timeless.


The best part of traditions happened during the tour of the park. Just after we arrived at the park, we were touring some cast member locations and saw the one and only Snow White. She waved to us and walked to her next place with the most poise and daintiness I've ever seen, and if you asked anyone I was with how I looked, they would agree that I was BEAMING with joy. This, right here, was some Disney magic. This moment was the exact moment I knew that this is where I'm meant to be right now. I am overjoyed with the thought of getting to work right next to the castle every single day, make magic for all those who come, whether it be their first visit or 100th visit, and experience working for the biggest entertainment company in the world.


After our tour of the park, we headed back to the classroom where we had a special visitor (or that who most of us refer to as our boss, himself.) Yes, the one and only Mickey Mouse came to deliver a special gift to us. At this time, Mickey hand delivered our special Blue ID cards and name tags, and on the count of three we all put our name tags on as our leaders welcomed us to the Disney family.


Now, I look forward to my "Welcome to Operations" training and more specific training on my role in Tomorrowland these next few days with excitement of beginning my actual work (hopefully) by the end of the week. I'm making so many amazing friends and connections and having so much fun exploring Orlando, the parks, the springs, and more. Big things are happening, and I'm so excited to see where this adventure takes me next!


xoxo & pixie dust, Samantha

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page