top of page
Search

Training Time!

01.29.2020

Today was my first official day of work in “costume.”  I’ve been placed at the “Rocket Tower,” so I’ll be helping with the operation of the Astro Orbiter and People Mover rides, right in the center of Tomorrowland!  There’s so much to learn and know before I am ready to safely operate this attraction, but Disney sure sets us up with success with A LOT of training. 

Yesterday I was up bright and early before the sun in order to report for my first day of training. We had a specialized tour of the entire Magic Kingdom where we visited all the lands, talked about all the attractions in the park and special things for guests to do, and we’re constantly reminded of how important our roles as Magic Kingdom cast members is due to the high volume of people visiting this park compared to the others and the reputation there is that comes with working amidst the Cinderella Castle.  Learning the in’s and out’s and finally having a schedule is helping to put my mind at ease as a lot of this process has been sort of “unknown” and “you’ll find out later.” 


I got an in depth training today on the People Mover. As simple as the ride may seem, walking for hours on a moving conveyer belt, the ride has many responsibilities and it was actually a lot of fun. Time flew by. However, the highlight of the day happened at 8:00pm. Just a few minutes before, our trainers took us to the top of the rocket tower to watch the happily ever after fireworks show. This was the first time I’ve watched the show since I’ve been here for the dcp and it was magical. About 5 minutes into the show, tears weld up in my eyes as each day it feels more and more real that this is my life and reality for the next months and not a vacation from home anymore. I’m so blessed to have this opportunity, meet these people, see these things, experience this magic. 


Aside from the job, my roommates Catt and Anais (from France) we’re joined by three more lively girls on Monday. Haley, Myranda, and Molly, all from southern states, have filled the empty beds and are now going through the experiences Catt and I had last week. They are so excited for their roles, just as we were. A full apartment means a lot of action, but hopefully once we all have solidified schedules, we’ll be able to find time to spend together and make memories :) 


My friends back home have all started classes this week and I look forward to catching up with them soon. Seeing their posts about being back together and classes beginning has made me start to feel a little homesick- or rather, menom-sick-  but I’ve made some amazing friends right off the bat here and know my friends and family back in Minnesota and Wisconsin are only a phone call away. And besides, I’ll be back before anyone even knows it ;)


I have a busy next week with lots more training and full days of work, but I’m excited. In the midst of all our trainings and busy schedules, my friends and I are hoping to find some time to have fun and let loose, so I’m excited to explore more! Catt and I found “our place” that we see ourselves going to often- Bahama Breeze. Home of live music, a really yummy tropical menu of foods, and tasty drinks for any occasion. We’re excited to go there again soon! 

Today I tried to get to the Magic Kingdom without using my GPS, and I was almost successful- so I really think I’m getting the hang of things. Finding anywhere else though, well that’s a task I think I’ll need help with for a while. 


Here’s to more big things happening in the next few weeks! 

xoxo, Samantha 





23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page